This is a poem about Christmas Traditions.  We had to write these poems in the Reading Workshop.  This poem was for my mom.  Mr. McGuire said it would make her cry, but it really didn’t.  It was my sister.  My sister was like, “Aww!”.  Then her eyes started getting red

Times of the season,

busy and different,

traditions stay.

Counting on making cookies together,

wrapping the presents,

scrumptious cinnamon rolls  on Christmas day.

Traditions possible,

thanks to you.

Images from http://www.flickr.com/photos/42921300@N00/331687946 and http://www.flickr.com/photos/40221941@N00/2104624897

4 responses »

  1. Mrs. Caudill says:

    Hannah, I loved the poem. I guess I didn’t cry because my inner voice was so busy saying things like, “Wow, she really thinks that about our traditions?” and “Wow, all of those things we do together as a family must really mean something to her.” I’m glad they do because they are very special to me. The memories we have created are priceless. Sometimes I think everyone is guilty of taking things for granted. I am glad that you don’t take our traditions, the things we do as a family, for granted. I am so proud of you and the awesome job you are doing on your blog. I see a future in writing for you . . . 🙂 Love you, Mom.

  2. Mr. McGuire says:

    I agree with your mom, I see a future in writing for you. Except I think the future is now. Your writing is a model for everyone. And now, you are even sharing such meaningful thoughts in poetry.

    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  3. Molly says:

    Yeah right Hannah! I didn’t do that.

Leave a Reply

