I haven’t been keeping up with my blog lately so I’m going to get you caught up on everything basketball. The teams I’m going to get you caught up on are the Logan Elm Braves, men’s Ohio State Basketball, and the Logan Elm girls 6th grade team.

The Logan Elm Braves basketball team won against Warren Friday night at the Convo. It was a close and scary game, but we came out on top. Here’s how it happened. With about thirty seconds left we were down. So Adam Blake brings the ball up the court and lets the time run out. He dribbles down in the lane and gets a shot off with about seven seconds left. The Logan Elm section screams. Warren takes the ball up court and without hesitation takes in to the lane. It hits the rim and bounces out just as time expires. The final score was 55-54!!!! They play again this Thursday at the Convo against Columbus St. Francis DeSales. Tip-off is at 8:00 pm.

The Ohio Sate Buckeyes landed a number 2 seed in the NCAA March Madness tournament with a Big Ten conference championship. They got to the championship by a buzzer beater by Even Turner against Michigan. He shot the ball right in-between the three-point line and the half-court line with a defender right up on him.

They then went into a double-overtime game against Illinois but once again came out on top. They won by 88-81. It wasn’t as close like it was against  Michigan, but it was still pretty close. With that win, they played against the winner of Purdue and Minnesota, which was Minnesota.  The final score was 90-61!

I was also playing in a basketball tournament with the rest of the 6th grade team. We had to play Saturday at 5:00 and 7:00 because we had school that day.

We lost our first game against Circleville 16-12. That game was not as bad as the next game was going to be, but it was still pretty bad. The only thing the refs could call was jump-balls when there was a lot of traveling and double-dribbles.

Our next game was against St. Mary’s who’s coach told our coach they hadn’t won a game this season. We continued that run. The final score was 22-7 (I think). That games was HORRIBLE. It was like playing in a football game because they were elbowing everybody and setting moving picks on you. In the past two weekends we’ve played basketball, I’ve gotten the wind knocked out of me probably 6 times. I think 4 out of 6 of those wind-knockers they have gotten a foul called. At one point in the game, I was trying to get inside to box this big girl out but she swung her elbows at me and I fell to the ground. No foul was called. Then one of my team-mates was going for a jump-ball and this girl stepped on her leg. Our parents gasped at what happened next, but I didn’t see it. I found out later on that a girl had elbowed her in the jaw. It was football out there.

There’s ton’s of more stories to tell by my mom is always telling me to keep is super simple (K.I.S.S.) So that’s all the stories I haven’t been posting about!!!!

Image from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/69151643@N00/439015785/

One response »

  1. Dad says:

    Sounds like it was an all basketbal weekend plus a few bumps and bruises.

Leave a Reply

