Yesterday my family got back from a week-long trip to our Nation’s Capitol, Washington D.C.  And even though we walked every day to everywhere we went, it still was awesome.  We saw a ton of different things that I will remember forever. 

Here are some of the things we did:

*Go up to the top of the Washington Monument

*Saw the Lincoln and Jefferson Memorial

*Go to Ford’s Theatre and saw where Lincoln got assassinated

*Go to the Bureau of Engraving and Printing (where they make money) and saw 384 MILLION DOLLARS just in one room

*Got a tour of the U.S. Capitol

*Went to the Library of Congress

*Got a tour of the Pentagon; Which did you know it covers 6.4 million sq ft and the inside courtyard can hold the U.S. Capitol?!

*Went to 4 of the Smithsonian Museums: Museum of Natural History, Museum of American History, Air and Space Museum, and the American Indian Museum

*We saw the White House, and saw all the security that comes with it 🙂

*Went to Arlington National Cemetary where we saw John F. Kennedy’s tomb, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and the Changing of the Guards, which was long, but sweet

*Saw the FBI building (it was right down the road from our hotel)

*Saw the Korean, World War 11 and Vietnam Memorial

*Went to Union Station

*Went to the Holocaust Museum

I think that’s about all we did while we were there.  Oh and we were in our hotel when the 3.6 earthquake happened, but we just heard a boom.  D.C. was AWESOME!!!!!

Images from Compfight.com   (We are going to get our pictures developed first before I put them on the computer)

13 responses »

  1. Cody says:

    I bet you had a fun time in Washinton D.C.

  2. Mr. McGuire says:

    What a great vacation. Laura and I went to D.C. with the girls when they were about your age and it was fun (and just a little bit educational).

    I am anxious to see your pictures. One of my all-time favorites of our pictures is the one of us in front of the White House. Do you have a picture of you in front of the White House?

    National Mall is one of the coolest places I have ever been. With Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, Vietnam Veteran’s Memorial Wall, and . . . What a fabulous place.

    I would like to hear more about your thoughts and what you enjoyed.

    • Hannah C says:

      Yes we have some pictures of us in front of the White House, front and back lawn. I think the one in the back is the best because there really aren’t any of the trees in our way.

      I think my favorite place that I went was up inside the Washington Monument. The views were AMAZING!!!! Mom liked the Pentagon, Dad liked the Holocaust and Molly liked the Monument too.

      Our hotel that we stayed in was about 100 years old and it was right downtown. It took a while getting used to because just the night before we stayed in a brand new hotel. We split the trip in half going down.

      On the way back to Ohio, we went to Mt. Vernon and saw the actual bed Washingnton died in. Then we stopped in Manassas, Virginia and stayed the night there. There was a Civil War reinactment going on that Mom and Dad wanted so see, so we went to that. I don’t think it was anything like we expected.

      Then we drove straight home in 7 hours, and it felt good to be home, out in the open, unlike D.C.!!!!!! I will make a slideshow of our pictures in a couple of days!! 🙂

  3. Hadley says:

    Sounds fun! I can’t wait to see you, and ps I posted!!

  4. Hadley says:

    Let me ask you something. Does it make any sense to go to a place with “384 MILLION DOLLARS”, and leave with an empty pocket?!?!

    LOLZ!!!

    • Hannah C says:

      Yes it does make sense because if you left with money in your pocket, what’s it really worth if you are going to be in jail?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

  5. Hadley says:

    Um, Hannah, they would throw your parents is jail because you are just a minor! Party at Hannah’s house…24/7!!

    LOLZ x2!!!!!!!!

  6. makaylak22 says:

    Hope it was fun.I wish I could go.

Leave a comment